Tuesday, April 9, 2013


Members of the Council on Foreign Relations

There are two types of Council on Foreign Relations membership: life, and term membership, which lasts for five years and is available to those between the ages of 30 and 36 at the time of their application. Only U.S. citizens (native born or naturalized) and permanent residents who have applied for U.S. citizenship are eligible. A candidate for life membership must be nominated in writing by one Council member and seconded by a minimum of three others (strongly encouraged to be other CFR members).[1]

Corporate membership (250 in total) is divided into "Basic", "Premium" ($25,000+) and "President's Circle" ($50,000+). All corporate executive members have opportunities to hear distinguished speakers, such as overseas presidents and prime ministers, chairmen and CEOs of multinational corporations, and US officials and Congressmen. President and premium members are also entitled to other benefits, including attendance at small, private dinners or receptions with senior American officials and world leaders.[2]


Board of directors

The Board of Directors of the Council on Foreign Relations is composed in total of thirty-six officers. Peter G. Peterson and David Rockefeller are Directors Emeriti (Chairman Emeritus and Honorary Chairman, respectively). It also has an International Advisory Board consisting of thirty-five distinguished individuals from across the world.[3][4]
Office Name
Co-Chairman of the Board Carla A. Hills
Co-Chairman of the Board Robert E. Rubin
Vice Chairman Richard E. Salomon
President Richard N. Haass
Board of Directors
John Abizaid former Commander, CENTCOM
Peter Ackerman founder, International Center on Nonviolent Conflict
Fouad Ajami professor in Middle East Studies, Johns Hopkins
Madeleine K. Albright former Secretary of State
Henry S. Bienen former president, Northwestern University.
Alan Blinder economics professor, Princeton
Mary Boies managing partner, Boies & McInnis
David G. Bradley chairman, Atlantic Media Company
Tom Brokaw former editor, NBC Nightly News
Sylvia Mathews Burwell Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.
Kenneth M. Duberstein former White House Chief of Staff
Martin Feldstein economics professor, Harvard
Stephen Friedman former chairman, Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board
Ann M. Fudge former CEO, Young & Rubicam
Pamela Gann president, Claremont McKenna College
J. Tomilson Hill vice chairman, The Blackstone Group
Donna Hrinak former U.S. diplomat
Alberto Ibargüen John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
Shirley Jackson president, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Henry R. Kravis co-founder, Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co.
Jami Miscik former Deputy Director for Intelligence
Joseph S. Nye, Jr. Kennedy School of Government
James W. Owens chairman, Caterpillar Inc.
Peter G. Peterson chairman, Peter G. Peterson Foundation
Colin L. Powell former Secretary of State
Penny Pritzker CEO, Pritzker Realty
David M. Rubenstein co-founder, The Carlyle Group,
George Erik Rupp president, International Rescue Committee
Frederick W. Smith CEO, FedEX
Joan E. Spero former ambassador
Vin Weber CEO, Clark & Weinstock
Christine Todd Whitman former Governor of New Jersey
Fareed Zakaria editor-At-Large, Time

Some corporate members

Notable current council members

Notable historical members

List of Chairmen

List of presidents


Source: The Council on Foreign Relations from 1921 to 1996: Historical Roster of Directors and Officers[8]
  1. ^ "Membership – Council on Foreign Relations". Cfr.org. Retrieved 2012-06-07.
  2. ^ "Corporate Program" PDF (330 KB)
  3. ^ "President's Welcome ("About CFR"), with a hyperlink to "History", both accessed February 24, 2007. (Date accessed applies to other citations to the CFR website.)
  4. ^ "Leadership and Staff". Accessed February 24, 2007.
  5. ^ Corporate Membership.
  6. ^ Washington Post, Columnists, "Talk About Your Serious Roles", By Amy Argetsinger and Roxanne Roberts, Wednesday, February 28, 2007; Page C03. Nominated by council member Trevor Neilson. If she's voted in at the June board meeting, the 31-year-old Jolie will receive a five-year "term" membership.
  7. ^ Jeffrey Epstein: International Moneyman of Mystery, NY Mag, Landon Thomas, retrieved 2011 3 25
  8. ^ "Continuing the Inquiry: Historical Roster of Directors and Officers".

No comments:

Post a Comment